• http://img.abrakaba.com/0047B05D-7/ALVA-NOTO-RYUICHI-SAKAMOTO-SUMMVS.jpg





    Origine du Groupe : Germany , Japan

    Style : Electro , Ambient

    Sortie : 2011

    By David from http://www.boxmusique.com

    All this sunny weather and an endless torrent of work has left updates a little scarce over the past few weeks, but I’m sure you can forgive me because you’re probably out there enjoying life,
    drinking mojitos and carelessly frolicking in meadows. Even if you’re not…well, maybe you should read a good book and chill out instead of crying and banging your head against the keyboard like a
    fleshy, irate hammer. My tardiness and your emotional problems aside, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Alva Noto have once again teamed up to release their fifth and possibly final collaborative album, a
    fact that both excites and saddens me in equal parts. Due for release on Alva Noto’s own Raster-Noton label on May 9, Summvs is the last in a series which began with 2002′s Vrioon and will no
    doubt be as hauntingly beautiful as its predecessors. According to guilty76, the title is a combination of the Latin words ‘summa’ and ‘versus’ which serves to emphasise “the collaborative idea
    behind the joint venture of these two exceptional artists, yet stressing their individual potentials.” So, yeah, it sounds interesting.

    In terms of the actual music, the press release describes “passages of sparse yet emotionally charged and passionate piano solos embedded in sine waves or reworked to establish new aesthetics of
    piano sound.” There is also mention of the use of one of only fifteen pianos in the world using a 16th tone interval tuning and the inclusion of two cover versions of ‘By This River’, a track
    originally written by Roedelius, Moebius and Brian Eno in 1977. All the technical music stuff tends to go right over my head, hence me quoting the press release instead of writing my own
    characteristically verbose descriptions, but I can already see myself lying face down in the dark listening to this record. Insen blew my tiny mind and hopefully this will help me piece together
    the shattered fragments that remain.


    Tracklist :

    1. Microon I

    2. Reverson

    3. Halo

    4. Microon II

    5. Pionier IOO

    6. Ionoscan

    7. By This River

    8. Naono

    9. Microon III

    10. By This River – Phantom



    Suivre le flux RSS des articles de cette rubrique