• http://ekladata.com/QcZGxSsc_hd3rq5WuEnHcqYA2nI.jpg



    Origine du Groupe : U.K

    Style : World Dub , Reggae , World Music , Alternative

    Sortie : 2011

    By David Katz  from http://www.bbc.co.uk

    Former Transglobal Underground and Temple of Sound main-man Nick Page, aka Count Dubulah, formed Dub Colossus as an outlet for hybrid interaction with Ethiopian musicians he encountered in Addis
    Ababa in 2006. The resultant debut album, A Town Called Addis, was widely praised for its border-stretching capacities and sonic adventurousness, giving traditional Ethiopian styles a modern
    re-working with a thoroughly dubwise sensibility. Sophomore set Addis Through the Looking Glass continues the journey with an even more complex stew, featuring guest input from Dr Das of Asian
    Dub Foundation, Jamiroquai’s drummer Nick Van Gelder, and founding Steel Pulse member Mykaell Riley. But its overall irresistibility truly comes courtesy of the Ethiopian players, who were
    apparently more in the driving seat this time around.

    The base of the music holds trademark elements of that which so enchanted audiences on the Ethiopiques series: vocalists Sintayehu Zenebe, Teremage Woretaw and Tsedenia Gebremarkos call to mind
    the legendary figures of Ethiopian music’s golden age, while sax man Feleke Woldemariam and the Bole Better Brass blow an updated Imperial Bodyguard style; expressive keyboardist Samuel Yirga
    also makes important melodic contributions throughout. It all serves to help ground the music in its Ethiopian origins, before Dubulah and crew drag in various blues, jazz, folk and rock
    elements, ultimately blasting the whole shebang into the dub stratosphere.

    On tracks like Tringo Dub and the playfully named Dub Will Tear Us Apart, everything hangs together exceptionally well, appearing as the kind of music that might have resulted if Kingston’s
    finest dub mixers made a pilgrimage to Addis in the roots era. The bluesy re-make of The Abyssinians’ immortal Satta Massagana furthers this theme, and even if the Ethio-pop re-working of Uptown
    Top Ranking is a weaker link in the chain, instrumentals Feqer Aydelem Wey and Yezema Meseret are quietly dazzling. By the time we reach the closing goulash of Gubeliye, the disc has taken in
    hard bop, psychedelic rock, ragamuffin dancehall and streetwise RnB, hidden textures easily missed on first listen ready to be discovered. Dubulah says the aim is to constantly surprise, and he
    really pulls off the feat on Addis Through the Looking Glass, for predicting the course quickly becomes an impossibility.

    Tracklist :

    1. Addis Through The Looking Glass

    2. Dub Will Tear Us Apart

    3. Wey Fekir

    4. Yeh Shimbraw Tir Tir

    5. Tringo Dub

    6. Satta Massagana

    7. Kuratu

    8. Feqer Aydelem Wey

    9. Guragigna

    10. Yezema Meseret

    11. Yigermel

    12. Wehgene

    13. Uptown Top Ranking

    14. Gubeliye





    Suivre le flux RSS des articles de cette rubrique