• http://www.hiddenorchestra.com/wp-content/gallery/covers/trucd261.jpg


    Origine du Groupe : U.K
    Style : Instrumental , Electro Ambient , Cinematic
    Sortie : 2012

    icon streaming




    From http://www.hiddenorchestra.com
    Archipelago, out 1st October 2012, is our second album for Tru Thoughts. The album sees Joe Acheson, the musical mastermind behind Hidden Orchestra, continuing to explore and develop many themes that emerged on our debut, Night Walks, adding new ideas, guest players, instruments and found sounds; to name a few, listen up for tap-dancing, bagpipe drones, and Acheson stomping in snow and ice.

    New instruments contributing to the many layers of Archipelago include the musical saw of multi-skilled cellist Su-a Lee (as heard to spine-tingling, sci-fi effect on “Vorka”); clarsach and electro-harp from Scottish folk musician Mary MacMaster; clarinet care of Czech musician/composer Floex; and Phil Cardwell’s uniquely versatile trumpet tones. In addition, you’ll hear a range of kantele and zithers which Joe (also a Sony-nominated radio producer and presenter) found and recorded at a school for the blind in Finland, while on location for a radio documentary.

    In sampling found sounds and inspired improvisation, alongside his skills as a composer, Joe instills  an anchor to our earthly environment, while often conjuring an ethereal atmosphere and fragility that can whisk the listener off to another world; there are moments of feeling suspended somewhere in between. Just as the first album evoked, in Joe’s words, “the brooding reflections of a solitary walk through the still, restless night”, ‘Archipelago’ takes us on “a voyage around a group of islands – built from the same materials but each with its own character, its particular arrangement of rocks, shoreline, flora and fauna – amid seas and skies which are forever changing”. Joe captured bird and wave sounds on a boat and ashore on the tiny remote Scottish island North Rona, when he and Poppy accompanied her father, the artist Norman Ackroyd, on a trip to gather sketches for his etchings – including the one of nearby island Roaireim, which we’ve used on the album cover.

    “It just sounds absolutely fantastic” – CERYS MATTHEWS (BBC 6MUSIC)
    “An uncanny sound…a faded-film world of spectre-filled forests – we’re happy to premiere it.” – THE LINE OF BEST FIT
    “Contemporary, atmospheric and accessible…being deservedly championed” – 5 STARS – BBC MUSIC MAGAZINE

    Archipelago is released on Tru Thoughts Records on 1st October 2012, and in the US on 9th October. Denovali Records will once again release a gatefold deluxe version of the album on vinyl.

    Tracklist :
    01 – Overture
    02 – Spoken
    03 – Flight
    04 – Vorka
    05 – Hushed
    06 – Reminder
    07 – Seven Hunters
    08 – Fourth Wall
    09 – Disquiet
    10 – Vainamoinen

  • http://multimedia.fnac.com/multimedia/FR/images_produits/FR/Fnac.com/ZoomPE/0/7/0/5060205151070.jpg



    Origine du Groupe : U.K

    Style : Altertnative , Ambient , Instrumental , Electronic , Jazz , Experimental

    Sortie : 2010

    The hidden orchestra est le fils caché de Rémi Bricka, l’homme orchestre qui jouait simultanément de tout un tas d’instruments et doit figurer dans le livre des Records quelque part entre Paul le
    Poulpe et les Beatles.

    Joe Acheson, puisque c’est son nom, pense, compose, et produit ce Hidden Orchestra en unique pilote, en plus de savoir jouer de l’orgue, du basson, de la guitare, basse, batterie et une quantité
    de percussions. Les comparaisons s’arrêtent ici.

    Musicalement, le Hidden Orchestra parcourt les mêmes terres que le Cinematic Orchestra, mais de nuit. Un chemin qui dispute l’ombre à la lumière, une route pavée de silence et d’un choix
    incertain entre le jazz et l’électronique. Night walks, collections d’ambiances sourdes s’écoute comme une bande-son automnale où couve la dynamique sous un calme apparent et précaire.


    par Stéphane Andrieu


    Tracklist :

    01. Antiphon

    02. Footsteps

    03. Dust

    04. Tired And Awake

    05. The Windfall

    06. Out Of Nowhere

    07. Wandering

    08. Stammer

    09. Strange

    10. Undergrowth


    Tell a Friend

    <script type="text/javascript">// <![CDATA[ aR_BgColor=""; aR_FgColor=""; aR_url=location.href; aR_title=document.title; aR_StarType ='3';document.write('
    <\/div>');document.write('<scr'+'ipt type="text/JavaScript" src="http://addratings.com/aR_BootStrap.js"><\/scr'+'ipt>');// ]]></script>

    Suivre le flux RSS des articles de cette rubrique