• http://ekladata.com/FvpiqLiYUhgO_nALthMadwE7gvY.jpg


    Origine du Groupe : Dominican Republic

    Style : Jazz , Piano

    Sortie : 2007

    By Rick Anderson from http://www.cduniverse.com

    After 20 years of developing his chops as a trio player, pianist Michel Camilo took a few years off to do other things -- a solo album titled Solo and a lovely orchestral homage to George
    Gershwin were two results of that break. With Spirit of the Moment he returns to the trio format, and he sounds refreshed and happy to be back. As always, his style is powerfully energetic and at
    times ideas seem to be flying out from under his fingers almost more quickly than he can fully process them. But with the help of a crack rhythm team (drummer Dafnis Prieto and bassist Charles
    Flores), he manages to keep his feet on the ground and generate lots of inspiring moments. Notable among them are an all-too-brief rendition of the John Coltrane classic "Giant Steps" that sounds
    almost like "Flight of the Bumblebee," a lovely version of Wayne Shorter's "Nefertiti," and the aptly titled "Hurry Up and Wait," a jittery and edgy uptempo original with a Latin feel. Despite
    his obvious affinity for faster material, Camilo also shines on the ballads: he delivers sweetly lyrical renditions of "My Secret Place" and "A Place in Time," both of them originals. Highly


    Tracklist :

    01. Just Now

    02. My Secret Place

    03. Spirit of the Moment

    04. Repercussions

    05. Nefertiti

    06. Nardis

    07. Trilogy

    08. Giant Steps

    09. Place in Time

    10. Hurry Up and Wait

    11. Liquid Crystal

    12. Solar (Explorations)



    Suivre le flux RSS des articles de cette rubrique