• http://kense.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/7041335297_0dd88c98e9.jpg





    Origine du Groupe : Colombia , U.K

    Style : Nu-Soul , World Music

    Sortie : 2012

    By Joe Muggs  from http://www.emusic.com

    A band manager of my acquaintance used to regularly warn his acts against “flutes and bongos.” And he was mostly right. When modern musicians — especially British musicians — start affecting the
    signifiers of conscious 1970s soul and jazz, it tends to be just that: affectation. Even Tru Thoughts, one of the finest jazz/funk/hip-hop labels in the U.K., has had its misfires on this front,
    bands and records that may brim over with virtuosity and good vibes, but fail to match to the heart, guts and, well, soul of their inspirations.

    In fact, even Will “Quantic” Holland, Tru Thoughts’s star producer/bandleader, has veered into pastiche in the past. Not here, though; not by a long chalk, even though flutes and bongos abound.
    Alice Russell has previously voiced many of Quantic’s finest moments in England, and in these sessions recorded in Holland’s adopted home of Cali, Colombia, over a couple of visits by Russell
    between 2007 and 2011, it’s clear that absence had made the heart grow even fonder.

    Russell’s voice remains formidable, but it’s her song-writing that comprises the core of this record. The arrangements and production meticulously recreate the feel of Minnie Ripperton and Rotary
    Connection, or vintage Colombian cumbia, but they are backdrops for the songs with a life all their own, rather than knowing retro nods. There are great stylistic twists, too: “Boogaloo 33″
    reminds us just how much mambo there was in classic rock ‘n’ roll, and the opener “Look Around the Corner” delivers the same liquid-sunshine string arrangements and grooves of Nuyorican soul.
    Through all of this, Russell is Quantic’s anchor, singing with her characteristic blend of toughness and smoothness, and investing these impeccably written songs with emotional life.

    Tracklist :   

    01. Look Around The Corner

    02. Here Again

    03. Travelling Song

    04. Magdalena

    05. I’ll Keep My Light In My Window

    06. Una Tarde En Mariquita

    07. Interlude

    08. Su Suzy

    09. Boogaloo 33

    10. Road To Islay

    11. Similau

    12. I’d Cry

    13. Magdalena (Reprise)

    14. Look Around The Corner (Reprise)

    icon streaming




    Suivre le flux RSS des articles de cette rubrique