• The Durutti Column - A Paean to Wilson

    http://www.mif.co.uk/fx-cm-content/uploads/2009/05/wilson-w-vini-wilson-w-vini-copyright-stephen-wright-smithsphotoscom-500x333.jpgNote : +

    http://thedurutticolumn.com/
    http://www.myspace.com/thedurutticolumnmcr

    Sortie : 2010
    Style : Alternative , Fusion Experimental , Electro

    Tracklist :
    Disc one – A Paean To Wilson
    II Chant
    III Quatro
    IV Requiem
    V Stuki
    VI Along Came Poppy
    VII Brother
    VIII Duet With Piano
    IX Darkness Here
    X Catos Revisited
    XI The Truth
    XII How Unbelievable

    Bonus Disc: Heaven Sent
    1 Bruce
    2 Keir
    3 Neil
    4 Mike
    5 Alan
    6 Anthony

    DOWNLOAD1.gif





    The Durutti Column : Brother

      




    The Durutti Column : Stuki

    The Durutti Column n'en finit plus de sortir des albums. Ce A Paean To Wilson, en mémoire de Tony Wilson, ami et boss de son premier label, Factory Records, est prévu pour janvier 2010 mais quelques exemplaires sont disponibles via le site de Kooky Records pour les fanas dont je fais bien sûr parti.

    Après une multitude de rééditions et quelques albums originaux for fans only publiés ces dernières années, Skinny Vini signe ici une pure merveille, belle et émouvante de bout en bout comme le démontre ce Brother, reprise (remix ?) improbable du What's Going On de Marvin Gaye, ou ce Stuki.

    En bonus, un deuxième disque met à disposition Heaven Sent (It Was Called Digital. It Was Heaven Sent), 6 titres sortis en 2005 uniquement en digital par F4 Records, 4ème mouture de Factory et dernier label de Wilson sur lequel il ne signa qu'un seul nouveau groupe, Raw-T (Qui s'en souvient ? Moi car c'est en parti grâce à eux que je me suis plongé dans le grime et dans le dubstep !).

    Liner notes by Vini Reilly :

    A Paean to Wilson is part of a body of work which I started around the time that my friend, Tony Wilson died. Towards the end of his illness, I sent him an instrumental track and he loved it, so I decided that the right thing to do was carry on. I was at the hospital when he died. We were very, very close. Afterwards, many things were done in his name. They were all about 'Mr Manchester', and about what Tony had done for music, art and literature. I didn't attend many of them. I'd just lost one of my closest friends and I had all the grief that you feel under such circumstances. Once I'd got my act together though, I decided to do something for myself and for Tony. The Durutti Column was Tony Wilson's baby. We were the first act signed up to his Factory club night and the first band signed to Factory Records. Over the years we worked on many albums together and the one thing that Tony and I always argued about was that he thought that I should make music and write rather than sing. After he died, I decided to make a body of work which did not have traditional song structures and which was concerned solely with the musical content. My only objective was to create some music that Tony would thoroughly approve of. I think I've done that and, if his spirit lives on - which I like to think that it does - I want him to know that this is for him.
    permalink
    « Takahiro Kido - Fleursy musicAether - Artifacts »